Call or Text (281) 743 - 0016 NOW for a FREE Consultation!

Once you’re charged with a DWI, you may wonder how this will affect your driver’s license. That’s why the Administrative License Hearing (ALR) is so important. What Is an ALR Hearing? After you’re charged with a DWI, you can request an ALR hearing from the Texas Department of Public Safety within 15 days of your arrest. The purpose of this hearing is to defend your license suspension so that you can drive while you wait for your DWI hearing. Otherwise, your license suspension starts 40 days after your arrest. At the hearing, a lawyer can ask questions of witnesses, and the hearing officer will review anything submitted, such as medical records. It’s always best to have an experienced Austin DWI attorney to help you, since there are so many nuances to DWI law. Furthermore a good DWI attorney will use the ALR hearing in order to pin the officer down on his/her testimony and then use that testimony to get a good result in the criminal case. If you’ve been arrested for a DWI, call (281) 743-0016 today. Don’t wait; you’ll need to request your hearing as soon as possible. 

Surcharges in Texas

Annual Surcharges for Certain Convictions

Drivers who receive a conviction for any of the following offenses that occur on or after September 1, 2003 are required to pay an annual surcharge for three years from the date of conviction.

  • Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), or a DWI-Related Offense

    • First Conviction – $1,000 Annual Surcharge

    • Second Conviction – $1,500 Annual Surcharge

    • Any Conviction with a BAC of .16 or Greater – $2,000 Annual Surcharge

  • Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

    • $250 annual surcharge

  • Driving While License Invalid

    • $250 annual surcharge

  • Driving without a Valid License

    • $100 annual surcharge


Surcharges are automatically assessed for these convictions and do not accrue points. All surcharges assessed for this program are in addition to all other reinstatement fees required for other administrative actions and do not replace any administrative suspension, revocation, disqualification or cancellation action that results from these same convictions.

In addition to criminal penalties, a person convicted of a first DWI will be required to pay a DPS surcharge of $1,000.00 per year for three years as a condition to maintaining his license. The annual surcharge increases to $1,500 per year for a second DWI or subsequent conviction within a 36 month period. If the person is shown to have had an alcohol concentration of .16 or greater, the surcharge is $2,000 per year for three years. Failure to pay the surcharge or enter into an installment payout agreement will result in suspension of the license until all payments are made.

How Points Work

DPS will assess a surcharge when the driver accumulates a total of six points or more on their record during a three-year period. The driver must pay a $100 surcharge for the first six points and $25 for each additional point.